2010 Volleyball Men’s World Championships

The 2010 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship was held in Italy from 25 September to 10 October 2010. The tournament featured 24 teams to determine the world champions in men’s volleyball. In addition to 2006 champion Brazil and host nation Italy, 22 teams qualified for the tournament by means of continental and regional competitions. The matches took place in ten venues across ten Italian cities, with the final being held at the PalaLottomatica, Rome.

The tournament was won by Brazil, who beat Cuba in final. Brazil won their third straight world championship having won previously in 2002 and 2006.[1] The podium was completed by Serbia who defeated Italy in the 3rd place match. Brazilian wing-spiker Murilo Endres was named the tournament MVP.[2]

Brazil’s victory continued their eight-year period of domination of world volleyball. Brazil has now won 15 of 17 major competitions since 2002. Brazil’s third straight world championship equals the record for consecutive titles set by Italy in the 1990s.

The regional qualification stage determined the 24 teams that would compete in the championship competition. Two spots were guaranteed to the host country Italy and 2006 champions Brazil. Regional governing bodies were allocated the remaining 22 spots. Africa was granted three, Asia and Oceania four, Europe eight, North America five and South America two places. Qualification competitions took place ranging from January to August 2009.